One Year Ago Tomorrow

When I was a little girl I watched Princess Diana’s wedding and dreamed of growing up and having a big beautiful wedding and riding off in a carriage.

As I got older I found myself less sure of the institution of marriage. Less sure of if I ever wanted to ‘settle” down, tie myself in to one thing, FOREVER. I saw lives crumble around me as things went wrong and I feared that kind of loss. I cannot even tell you why, just that I didn’t know if it was for me. I got older and older and found and myself single and I thought, well, it may be decided for me.

And then I fell in love.

Deeply, madly and wholly in love. I remember going home and telling AM&UK that I didn’t know what it was, I just knew. And UK says, that’s when you know it’s love, when it can’t be explained.

One year later, the thought of walking through the grass to that man still makes me cry. I love him more than I have ever loved anything in my life and I feel more loved than I thought was possible. It’s been the fastest year of my life, it’s been challenging, not being married, but the mix of our life. He’s so patient, responsive and kind.

I did not deserve what I got, but I got it.

I saw an interview with The Ralph Lauren family yesterday and I loved in talking about their daughter’s wedding that the Laurens said we’re not giving her away we are taking him in. The absolute sweetest part of this gift has been that. Our family just expanded. Like Zelda Fitzgerald so beautifully said,

“No one could measure, even poets, how much the human heart can hold.”

Here’s to the years ahead and an ever increasing expanse in our hearts.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

