NSYC

Because I went to Zumba, and my 11:00 appt got cancelled I have a chance to catch up on the cooking part of this notoriously well-read blog. But first, Zumba. This is what I look like when I leave (I normally only send these to Boo and LadyA because they laugh with me, but here is another post workout photo for you)

Boo thinks it’s weird that I make faces when I take these pictures and send them to him, but I think it’s normal. I don’t want to look like I think it’s normal to send pictures of myself. I will not expound.

Zumba kicks my ass. Seriously. It is so hard. I don’t even know how I can run and then go to Zumba and feel like I am going to die so much. I love it so much and I think it’s so cool, the variety of people in the class, that I got a little emotional about it today… I might have also been emotional because 98% of the class is decades older than me and I can’t keep up and it’s embarrassing. It’s really hard to say (yes, SAY, UK) which, and so I won’t. So there.

However, if you do Zumba and eat well the rest of the day then you can have beer and fried food at night and still be under your calorie count on your iPhone app. Which has become the boss of me. Telling me – eat more, drink less, work harder, Yoga is not real cardio etc. SOOOOOOO as a result, I think I am going to make these tonight.

Jalapeño-Goat-Cheese Hush Puppies
Makes about 18
PREP: 30 minutes
TOTAL: 30 minutes
Recipe by Caseus Fromagerie Bistro, New Haven, Connecticut
September 2010
Ingredients
1 cup yellow cornmeal
1 1/2 tablespoons all purpose flour
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
3/4 teaspoon coarse kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup buttermilk
2 tablespoons beaten egg
1 1/2 tablespoons chopped seeded jalapeño chile
4 ounces coarsely crumbled soft fresh goat cheese (about 1 cup)
Canola oil or vegetable oil (for deep-frying)
Preparation
Whisk first 6 ingredients in medium bowl to blend. Whisk buttermilk, egg, and chile in small bowl to blend. Stir buttermilk mixture and cheese into dry ingredients.
Add enough oil to deep medium saucepan to reach 1 1/2 inches. Attach deep-fry thermometer to pan; heat oil to 320°F to 330°F over medium heat. Working in batches of 4 or 5, drop batter by tablespoonfuls into oil. Cook until golden, turning occasionally, about 4 minutes. Using slotted spoon, transfer hush puppies to paper towels. DO AHEAD Can be made 2 hours ahead. Let stand at room temperature. Rewarm until crisp in 375°F oven, 12 to 14 minutes.

I know! Seriously! How good do those look? I saw them in this month’s BON APETIT. Here’s the nutritional info
Three hush puppies contain:
Calories (kcal) 282.1
%Calories from Fat 60.9
Fat (g) 19.3
Saturated Fat (g) 4.1
Cholesterol (mg) 29.5
Carbohydrates (g) 21.1
Dietary Fiber (g) 3.4
Total Sugars (g) 4.5
Net Carbs (g) 17.7
Protein (g) 6.3
Sodium (mg) 318.5

Don’t let it stress you out. Just do Zumba. And die.

3 thoughts on “NSYC

  1. I love that you are not afraid to post post-zumba photos of yourself! You rock! Especially for doing zumba in the first place

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

